Your search results

GCAR’s Real Estate Professionals Institute (REPI)

Our goal is to help you meet your educational requirements with quality courses, seminars, and dynamic instructors in a comfortable and nurturing environment.

Continuing Education Requirements:

The Department of State (DOS) requires REALTOR® members to take 22.5 hours of continuing education (CE) before renewing their license which includes, three hours of Fair Housing/anti-discrimination training and one hour of Agency (two hours if within the licensee’s first cycle).

The following members are exempt from taking continuing education:

  1. Emeritus Status: A REALTOR® Member who has held membership in the National Association as a REALTOR® or REALTOR-ASSOCIATE® for a cumulative period of forty (40) years.  Click here for a full explanation.
  2. A Broker who was licensed for fifteen continuous years as of July 1, 2008, click here to review information from DOS.
  3. An attorney admitted to the New York State bar is also exempt from the continuing education requirement.

December 31 will be here before you know it. We have several opportunities for you to get your ethics requirement done.

October 18
Cash in the Code with Ellen Boyle @ Rivers Casino, Schenectady
3 hours of CE • $45 Members

October 25
GRI-1 Ethics with Joe Whittington @ GCAR
7.5 hours of CE • $125 Members

November 14
Ethics, Fair Housing, & Agency with Rory O’Connor @ GCAR.
7 hours of CE • $40 members

December 5
Ethics for REALTORS® with Richard Ferro @ GCAR
3 hours of CE • $40

Ethics Education Requirements:

The first biennial cycle began January 1, 2017, and will end December 31, 2018.  REALTORS® are required to complete ethics training of not less than 2 hours, 30 minutes of instructional time within two-year cycles. The training must meet specific learning objectives and criteria established by the National Association of REALTORS®. Failure to complete the required periodic ethics training shall be considered a violation of a membership duty and will result in suspension of membership for the first two months (January and February) of the year following the end of any two (2) year cycle or until the requirement is met, whichever occurs sooner. On March 1 of that year, the membership of a member who is still suspended as of that date will be automatically terminated. For more information on Code of Ethics training click here.

Cancellation policy: Full refund 11 days prior to class, afterward a $25 cancellation fee is applied. No Shows forfeit tuition.

NYS Requirements for Licensing as a salesperson are:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a United States citizen or be a legal, permanent resident
  • Have no felony convictions (contact NY Department of State for clarification)
  • Complete the 75-hour licensing course
  • Pass the NY Department of State Salesperson licensing exam
  • Have a sponsoring New York State Broker (you do NOT need a sponsoring broker to take the 75 Hour Course or the exams but must have one when applying for your license).
  • Apply for a Salesperson license

An Online Licensing Class is available through GCAR’s online partner: The CE Shop.

FAQ

Your 75-hour course completion certificate is good for eight years. If you are not ready to apply for your license at the end of the course, you must hold on to your certificates until you are ready. Remember the NYS exam results are good for two years.

If you took the 45-hour licensing course before July 1, 2008, this certificate is still valid.  If your license expired more than two years ago, you will have to take the NYS exam again before you can renew your license. If your license expired less than two years ago, you only need to compete the 22 1/2 hours of continuing education before you renew your license. In either case, your broker must sign the renewal form.

According to the New York Department of State, you must complete 90% of the class time in order to pass the course. In other words, if you miss more than 7.5 hours of the entire class, you will automatically fail.

According to Article 12-A of the Real Property Law, “anyone who negotiates any form of real estate transaction for another and for compensation of any kind in the State of New York” needs a license.

A broker is the owner or corporate officer of the firm. The broker sponsors, trains, and supervises all the real estate activities of the agents for which he/she is responsible. A salesperson works for and under the direction of the sponsoring broker.

No, many people take the course for personal reasons and have no intention of getting a license. You also do not need a sponsoring broker to take the State exam. You do need a sponsoring broker at time of license application.

NYS Requirements for Licensing as a Broker are:

  • Be at least 20 years of age
  • Complete the Broker’s Qualifying course and pass the course exam
  • If you took the 45 hour Salesperson Course, you are required to complete the 30 hour Remedial Course, in addition to the Broker Course, to meet the 120-hour education requirement for the broker license, you can take the Remedial Course before or after the Broker Course.
  • Pass the NYS broker exam
  • Have either a minimum of two years experience as a licensed salesperson or three years experience in a related field. (Please check with the NYS Dept. of State as to what constitutes experience and/or a related field at 518-474-4429 or www.dos.state.ny.us )

An Online Licensing Class is available through GCAR’s online partner: The CE Shop.

FAQ

According to Article 12-A of the Real Property Law, “anyone who negotiates any form of real estate transaction for another and for compensation of any kind in the State of New York” needs a license.

A Broker is the owner or corporate officer of the firm. The Broker sponsors, trains, and supervises all the real estate activities of the agents for which he/she is responsible. A salesperson works for and under the direction of the sponsoring Broker.

Your course completion certificate is always valid but, your NYS Broker exam is valid for 2 years. We strongly suggest taking the NYS exam.  You can relicense as a Sales Agent and count 22.5 hours (includes Fair Housing & 2 hours of Agency) of CE for your sales license and wait until you are ready to license yourself as an Associate Broker or Individual Broker.

According to the New York Department of State, you must complete 90% of the class time in order to pass the course. In other words, if you miss more than 7.5 hours of the salesperson’s class or 4.5 hours of the broker’s class, you will automatically fail.

Skip to toolbar